Your Local Councillors

The Town Council  consists of up to twenty members, who are residents of Syston, or their place of work is in Syston. Our Councillors have volunteered to spend some of their time looking after the interests of the town and its residents. Meetings are held weekly, and are attended by the Town Councillors and Council officers.  Full Council is also attended by the Borough and County Councillors.

Our councillors are all elected or co-opted onto the Council, if you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do then please follow the links below. Or simply contact the Town Council Office.

Here are 2 files that can be downloaded, The Good Councillors Guide, provides an excellent overview of a local council. This is helpful for existing Councillors and anyone thinking about becoming a Councillor.
and It Takes All Sorts, a publication from the National Association of Local Councils explaining the role of a Parish Councillor.

Chair and Vice Chair of the Council


Cllr Tom Barkley

Tom With Chains (3)

Vice Chairman

Cllr Asit Jansari


Chairs of Committees

Chair: Cllr Mike Mcloughlin
Vice Chair: Cllr Phil Walden

Chair: Cllr John Lucas
Vice Chair: Cllr David Pepper

Chair: Cllr Tom Barkley
Vice Chair: Cllr Ken Pacey

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology and are in the following formats: .pdf. Request an accessible format.

Councillor Attendance

These files may not be suitable for users of assistive technology and are in the following formats: .pdf. Request an accessible format.

Your other Local Elected Representatives

Charnwood Borough Council

The following are elected Councillors who represent wards in Syston:-
Syston East
Cllr. Simon Bradshaw – Cllr.simon.bradshaw@charnwood.gov.uk
Cllr. Ken Pacey – Cllr.ken.pacey@charnwood.gov.uk

Syston West
Cllr. Thomas Barkley – Cllr.thomas.barkley@charnwood.gov.uk
Cllr. Sue Gerrard – Cllr.sue.gerrard@charnwood.gov.uk

Leicestershire County Council

Syston Fosse (Cossington, East Goscote, Queniborough, Ratcliffe on the Wreake, Rearsby, Syston (Central Avenue area of Syston), Thrussington)
James Poland CC – james.poland@leics.gov.uk

Syston Ridgeway – Syston (excluding Central Avenue area of Syston), Wanlip
Tom Barkely CC – Thomas.Barkley@leics.gov.uk

Local Member of Parliament

Contact MP Edward Argar at their Westminster address.

House of Commons
Phone: 020 7219 8140

Email: edward.argar.mp@parliament.uk

Visit the Write To Them website for up to date contact information on your elected representatives.